If you want to capture a screenshot of your guest in a call, for instance for identity verification or a problem that you want to have a detailed photo of, 24sessions now offers image capture, a new feature in beta. With image capture, there is no need to deal with taking screenshots of a lower quality video stream, trying to make out the details. You can easily capture an image through the camera of your guest, without any quality compromises, as it will take the image at a higher resolution than the video feed.
This article covers:
- How to request permission to capture an image
- How to take an image capture
- How to save the image capture
- How to troubleshoot issues
How to request permission to capture an image
When image capture is enabled in your 24sessions environment, users can click on Image capture in the meeting room menu on the bottom left.
Clicking this option will give you a pop-up, which allows you to ask permission to capture images from the camera of the other participant. If there are multiple participants, you can select which participant you want to ask permission for.
Once permission is asked, the guest will get a pop-up, where they can either decline or allow the request. Should they decline the request, you can ask permission again. The user will never get access to capturing the guest's camera without their explicit permission.
How to take an image capture
After the permission has been granted, a preview will open, a camera button and a cancel button will appear.
You can now simply capture an image by clicking on the camera button. A countdown will start on the guest's screen, which will indicate when the image will be taken, so they can be sure to be ready when the image is captured.
How to save the image capture
When the image has been captured, it will show up as a preview for both the guest and the user. When the image is then approved by clicking Save, it will automatically be saved to the computer. The guest can not reject a photo, only the user can decide to save or discard an image.
Please note that you will not be able to find these images back in the meeting details, they're saved to your computer and will also be downloadable from the chat for the duration of the meeting, so the guest can also download the images should they want to. After the meeting, you cannot download these images again, so make sure that you hold on to the files.
When the image is saved, you can take another one right after by clicking the camera button again. You won't have to ask for permission again for another photo. You can also click cancel to end the image capture session.
If you get any issues with a permission request not going through, ask the guest to reload and reload yourself as well. Usually reloading the page on either or both sides fixes the issue.
Please sign in to leave a comment.